HCD Project: Knowledge & Method(s) Assignment #2

DONE:

You have by now identified your Design Challenge that is…

 

  • Framed in human terms (rather than technology, product, or service functionality)
  • Broad enough to allow you to discover the areas of unexpected value
  • Narrow enough to make the topic manageable

TO DO NEXT:

 

  • What do I know? From the IDEO Toolkit:
    • What people need or want
    • What technologies can help in this challenge
    • What solutions or ideas are being tried in other areas
    • Any early hypotheses about how to solve the Design Challenge?
    • Are there any contradictions or tensions that emerge?Where is my knowledge the strongest: on the needs of people, on the technological possibilities, or in how to implement ideas?
  • > What do I need to know? The most important knowledge needs!
  • How do I find out?
    • Individual Interview
    • Group Interview
    • In Context Immersion
    • Self-Documentation
    • Community-Driven Discovery
    • Expert Interviews
    • Seeking Inspiration in New Places
    • Or…?

Please read the IDEO HCD Toolkit, pages 39-68 for more info, instructions, and inspiration.

Answer those 3 questions listed above as a comment, according to this format:

My specific design challenge is: [1 sentence]

I know that [max. 4 sentences]

My most important knowledge needs are [1 sentence]

I intend to find out more by [max. 4 sentences]

 

Due 4/10 by class time.

26 thoughts on “HCD Project: Knowledge & Method(s) Assignment #2

  1. My specific design challenge is coordinating and uniting a diverse neighborhood to organize in favor of my community garden project. I know that the cultural groups in my area are fond of personal gardening and fresh produce, attested to by the many front- and backyard gardens seen on local streets as well as the abundance of family-owned produce stores. Furthermore, I know that my neighborhood is a relative desert of communal gardening, with the nearest project being the “Edible Schoolyard” at PS 216. Additionally, I am aware of the procedure for establishing a community garden. Finally, I know that there are vacant lots available for potential use, such as this one (https://livinglotsnyc.org/lot/3066370025/) about a mile away from my home. Currently, my most important knowledge need is understanding whether or not my community actually desires a place to come together and grow for itself. I intend to find out more by contacting various facilities in order to reach different demographics. I can hold meetings/distribute materials at public schools to contact local parents and gauge interest. Secondly, there are a number of religious institutions through which I could disseminate my message. Lastly, I can go to gardening supply centers to get in touch with those already in favor of gardening to see if there is a common sentiment binding them together.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My specific design challenge is to bring more clean energy to the greater New York city area by creating a plan and working with small business owners to begin to install solar panels on their roofs. One thing I know is that solar panels aren’t cheap with some units costing anywhere from $15,000-$25,000 (Via:solar-new-york.org), but with the average person spending about $72,000 dollars in electricity bills over a course of 25 years the investment is worth it. I also know that when purchasing/installing solar panels there are payment plans buyers can sign up, making the buying process a lot easier. Lastly, I know that the state provides incentives for those who do wish to install solar panels including providing tax credits, and other incentives that can also lower the cost of the solar panels. I think that my most important knowledge needs are what plans exactly does NY state have in place to benefit those who are buying the panels, because knowing this information can help me better convince business owners. I intend to find out more information by getting in touch with various representatives from clean energy groups in New York such as the Clean Energy Advisory Council (CEAC). Also to accurately judge what exactly business owners want to get out of buying panels having focus groups can help me get a better sense of what the community would want. Finally, I can contact the manufactures/sellers of the solar panels and learn more about the full capabilities of the panels as well as get accurate readings on how much money people save every year having them installed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My specific design challenge is to develop and implement strategies for teacher-parent-student involvement to improve educational outcomes for students in low-income communities. I know that there are various reasons for a lack of family or parental support for a lot of these students. There is also a gap in teachers’ willingness to truly help students learn instead of passing them off. Many students themselves also feel that their communities do not care about their success. My most important knowledge needs are finding schools and families who are willing to enter this program in order to uncover the flaws in the current education system. I intend to find out more by seeing the dynamic in public school classrooms in the city as well as getting input from students, teachers, faculty, and parents. It will be crucial to discern how zoning affects public schools, funding from the government, teacher qualifications, and demographics of certain areas in the city.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My specific design challenge is to turn the national program, NOW, into a local one. I know that I would ideally want to focus my program on young women. I know that the program currently supports a multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights. I know that when I localize the program I will need to be more specific on the issues of women’s rights I am focusing on. My most important knowledge need is to find out who to target when localizing my program. I intend to find out more about who would be interested in a program like this. I also intend to find out more about what women’s rights issues people are most interested in finding out about.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My specific design challenge is to create a local non-profit that provides temporary shelter, as well as vocational training in established corporations for those in need of a chance to rebuild for themselves. I know it has only gotten harder for individuals to gain an education due to economical outreach, which then makes it more difficult for the individual to get a job, which then forces poverty. I also know that it takes time for one to fully get back on their feet, which will need to be considered to have a facility that creates equal opportunities for all. Furthermore, I know it will be important to have strict guidelines and regulations to avoid being taken advantage of. My most important knowledge need is to find corporations willing to sponsor this organization and provide the individuals in the program with internships/ training. I intend to find out more by reaching out to companies such as CCC New York ( Citizens Committee for Children New York) who support services that address the needs of the homeless youth and vocational training, to obtain a better understanding of the regulations that should be set to be able to enter the program. This will help to give individuals a fair and equal opportunity to enter the program.

    Like

  6. My specific design challenge is to create a non-profit based off of the inequality in NYC in partnership with the Russell Sage Foundation in which local high-school and college students will contribute to creating local programs and conduct research. I know that there is a lack of understanding and awareness within multiple communities and neighborhoods, furthering the inequalities. There are many programs, but few focus on using people of the community to the forefront their operations. My most important knowledge needs understand if people of the community want to create and participate in a program of such, and if so how will I find them and create the program. I intend to find out more about which communities in the NYC area are the most in need, and how can local universities and high-schools become involved in the process of creating the non-profit.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My specific design challenge is to create a New York City branch of the already existing Texas-based non-profit I Am Waters, an organization that partners with others to bring clean, bottled drinking water to the homeless. I know that NYC has a large population of homeless people, and that different organizations, such as soup kitchens, shelters, and churches, are always asking for donations and supplies. I also know that there is a need for clean drinking water world wide, and that without access, people and communities cannot flourish. Additionally, I am familiar with social media, the impact that it can have, and the vast number of people that it can connect our non-profit to. My most important knowledge needs are figuring out who to partner with and how exactly to get the money and donations needed to collect these water bottles. I intend to find out more by talking to the people behind the original I Am Waters non-profit, as well as some of the local shelters, organizations, and churches here in New York. Specifically, I will look into the organizations that I Am Waters works with in Texas that have operations in NYC, such as the Salvation Army, Goodwill, and Covenant House. I can talk to these local shelters as well as some of the individuals who utilize their services to find out what they have to say.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My specific design challenge is to create a Zero Hunger Challenge Platform that brings together governments, civil society, the private sector, the United Nations system and others for collective impact in the area of food security, nutrition and sustainable food systems. I know that two main concepts of my design challenge are providing access to food and strengthening of family farming. One of the most prominent accomplishments of the strategy was the boost on Brazil’s school feeding programme, which now connects both elements of the strategy. The link between school feeding and family farming is considered to be a groundbreaking strategy to combat hunger and poverty, as well as to promote food and nutrition security. My most important knowledge needs are analyzing the problem of hunger in US and applying strategies to achieve important strides towards the eradication of hunger. I intend to find out more by studying and researching the commitment of other countries to initiate a National School Feeding Programme in order to fight with hunger all over the world. For instance, Mali has already committed to a national school feeding policy. There were held regional dissemination workshops about the national policy on school meals for all regions of the country. The result of these meetings was used to start a draft law. The country is currently going through a period of instability, but school feeding has been responsible for keeping children in school. For the future, the strategy is to launch a school development plan and a review of education. That information is helpful for me in applying the strategy of Zero Hunger Challenge to some parts of the United States. First, as I mentioned above, I would try to take it on a local level to see if it is beneficial for the society and if it helps to increase school enrollment and attendance, decrease dropouts, and develop the cognitive ability of children.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My specific design challenge is to create a program within my community to educate kids and adults about the issues we are facing locally involving hunger. Using social media and school programs to educate students and make sure they are socially aware of hunger in the world and their own communities. This would make people feel more involved and obligated to help out in any way they can. The knowledge would be spread alongside local organizations that already deal with the hunger issues – such as Food Bank for NYC. These experts can enter schools and engage students to learn more about the issue and what they can do to help. This will hopefully lead to an increase in donations, volunteers and potentially inspire future innovators that can continue the mission to end hunger. Targeting children is important because they are the future and they also have a great influence over their parents. I can find out more information by contacting workers from Food bank of NYC and asking if a program such as this would be something they feel could be beneficial. I can also ask children about what they know on the topic of hunger – just to see what kids already know and where they are lacking in knowledge.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. My specific design challenge is to make New York City an environmentally friendly city that fights against climate change and can serve as a model city for the rest of the U.S. and the world. In order to serve as a model city for climate action, NYC as a whole (its representatives, politicians, and residents) must be vocal about the fact that climate change indeed exists, in addition to instituting a number of different public policies and projects that result in directly combatting climate change.

    I know that since the majority of New York City is liberal, what New Yorkers want is for climate change to be accepted and declared as real, and for real action and change to be taken within the city to deter climate change. I also know that cities produce a majority of the world’s pollution, and are among the first locations affected by climate change through the sea level rise, transportation, air pollution, and energy. For this challenge, the technology that can help to institute this change is social media because it will give New Yorkers a voice to express to their local politicians what actions they would like to see taken on this issue. Also, urban technology is constantly making advances and can assist in making cities smarter and greener. One solution that other urban areas are trying is focusing on local action for community improvements, such as creating denser, healthier, more walkable neighborhoods. Another solution that urban areas are taking is switching to green energy, such as renewable power, as well as creating green infrastructure (new parks, public spaces, and urban farming).

    My most important knowledge needs are finding a cost-effective way to institute these green changes and getting New Yorkers actively involved in demanding change from their local politicians. I also need to research how to implement these ideas.

    I intend to find out more by researching interviews from experts in climate and earth science, campaign organizing, grassroots campaigning, city projects planning, and politics in general. I also intend to find out more by doing self-documentation, and finding as much facts, statistics, and data possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. My specific design challenge is to implement self-care and empowerment workshops for the women and children at WIN, seperated by age group and possibly gender. WIN (Women in Need) directly assists homeless mothers and their families by providing stable shelter, counseling, child care, and various classes. My plan is to add to these services with workshops that are less structured and learning focused. I envision safe spaces for individuals to explore their potential, support each other, and practice self-love.
    I know that women are systematically disadvantaged in almost all areas of society. I realize that these disadvantages can be partially or fully overcome through awareness of issues and practice in handling them. For example, the wage gap is a huge hurdle for half the population. An empowerment workshop that focuses on learning how to navigate wages (addressing unfair earnings, asking for raises/promotions) could shift the employment and financial situation for many.
    My most important knowledge needs are understanding what these individuals are lacking most and addressing those needs.
    I intend to find out more by inquiring with the counselors at WIN to find out exactly where they see areas that need improvement and the types of workshops they believe will be most beneficial in the long run. I would ask a sample of individuals already receiving assistance at WIN which areas of their lives they feel need more support and how they can be most benefitted.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. My specific design challenge is to improve relationships and economic inequalities in my neighborhood by having an after school program that teaches kids the importance of teamwork and creating jobs to repair abandoned or underdeveloped homes. I know that in my neighborhood there are a number of under developed and abandoned homes that need repairs. I know that creating jobs for many of those in disenfranchised neighborhoods will create an opportunity to make money and improve their community simultaneously. In the aspect of using after school programs to reduce social inequalities I know kids tend to ignore the social inequalities so focusing on them to keep the belief that no one should be discriminated against is how to reduce the likely hood of social equalities in the future. I know that people will challenge the idea that focusing on the youth is not fixing the problems now but in order to insure that the idea of inequalities is reduced is if those that come next believe that inequalities in society are unacceptable. I think my most important knowledge needs are from group interviews with kids on what they believe about inequalities. Also i need expert interviews on how to make rebuilding the community into a paying job that can help families experiencing economic inequality. I intended to find out more by researching the topic on economic inequalities. I will also find out more by interviewing those in the neighborhood to get ideas from them on how to improve their situations. I will also gather information from community officials on their thoughts about how to reduce the economic inequalities and if my suggestion is one that could provide a favorable outcome. I would also talk to parents, school professors and administrators on the possibility of a program being implemented and fin out from them in what ways in can improve or what actions should take place to insure it is created.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. My specific design challenge is to feed 16,000 children 3 meals a day for an entire year. I know that I need 1092 meals to feed the children 3 meals a day. If I was able to raise at least a dollar a day I could be successful for a years worth of working. I know that $72.80 is enough for 1 one child for 3 meals a day. I know that through effective planning and research that this goal is attainable. My most important knowledge needs are how are we going to get there, where exactly am i aiming to feed children, how are we going to get the food, and how many people Im going to actually have helping with this non-profit project. I intend on watching more documentaries on feeding children so I can gain more knowledge. Also, watching interviews to gain critical information. I plan on doing extensive research to gain as much knowledge as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. My specific design challenge is to start a innovation scholarship in poverty stricken neighborhoods. I know that many New York City public schools in low income areas fail to provide simple education. In an effort to enhance innovation as well as advance education I want to establish a non profit that takes young low income children and provide possibly a after school program that will lead to college scholarships on innovation. I know at this moment I know creativity and innovation are being stripped from low income students and I want to change and enhance that. My most important knowledge needs are understanding what inspires the young to create and innovate. I intend to find out more by directly engaging in brain storming activities with the local kids. I want to put together possible school assemblies at different inner city school’s and introduce innovation on its most basic scale. I believe in also talking to school leaders in assigning more creative curriculum.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. My specific design challenge is to develop policies that cater to ensuring the homeless schoolchildren population is receiving enough resources to get the best quality education.
    I know that there are already federal policies in place that protect children that are officially deemed “homeless”. Though this is true, the policies need a lot more work in order to truly make sure the homeless population doesn’t continue to fall behind academically. I know that the New York City Mayor de Blasio originally committed to 30 million dollars to support the homeless community and their education. This budget has since been dropped by 70%.
    My most important knowledge needs are finding out the best way to support homeless school children that is realistically attainable for every school district.
    I intend to find out more by researching the policies of individual states that currently have high populations of homeless families. I also will conduct interviews or study previous research on school administration personnel that work with large volumes of homeless children. Hopefully, this will increase my knowledge on the best ways to create policy that ensures quality education for homeless children.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. My specific design challenge is to make people aware of the importance of growing their own food in order to have good health and well being. What I know is that most people are not educated enough about growing food on their own. This is important to know because as technology advances, and more hormones and chemicals are added to our food, it is helpful for our health and our environment to learn the process of growing your own food. With that being said, technology is going to be a big part of this process moving to the future. My early hypothesis is that advancements in vertical farming, robots, and other machines will make this process natural as we move forward. My most important knowledge needs is to find out whether this technology will either hinder or help the process of growing your own food for people that are not farmers. I intend to find out more information by conducting both expert and individual interviews. This will help figure out from the perspective of the expert if this will truly benefit people in the long run when it comes to their health. When it comes to the individual interviews this can be used as a reference and guide to see what people think about the whole concept of growing their own food. Both interviews will become the main sources of information on which I can gather all my data, and figure out how aware people, are and if they are not, how learning about the process can help achieve good health and well being.

    Source:

    https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2015/sep/13/future-of-food-how-we-grow

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My specific design challenge is teachers in the NYC school system being able to properly communicate with students who are bilingual or have english as a second language. I know that more and more students are coming to school having to learn english as a second language, or having to learn from a teacher that can’t properly communicate with them. I know that teachers have a hard time providing a proper lesson to these students because of the language barrier. As of right now, there aren’t a lot of places that teachers can go to be trained to fix this problem. My most important knowledge needs are more evidence of this happening, and if teachers think this is a bigger issue. I need to find out more by reaching out to elementary school teachers to find out if this is a problem, or if it’s just in certain schools or areas.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. My specific design challenge is to plan and create a web-based tool, this is an interactive site where an individual can gain the necessary support to maintain their mental health concern. I know that by making this a web-based tool, it’ll be more accessible and affordable way a person can receive the support they need related to their health. This will reach a key demographics that’ll treat young adults and the specific diagnosis; depression, anxiety, eating disorders, and bipolar. It will provide an online private session with a therapist and its clients, forums,and other interactive services. My most important knowledge needs are the effectiveness of the web-based tool as opposed to traditional methods, knowing that will scientifically work and can successfully deliver for consumers with mental illness. I intend to find out more, by contacting and partnering with experts such those employed in the healthcare profession, specifically in the mental health industry. Also, knowing a way to encourage and empower people to speak openly about their concerns and most importantly detaching the stigma with mental illness. The web-based tool connects to technology, therefore I would need to seek out software developers and programmers to help me find ways to implement a design that will be more attractive to people.

    Like

  18. My specific design challenge is to create a public advocacy organization, centered in New York City, whose goal is to raise awareness for clean water and sanitation. I know that access to clean drinking water is a worldwide issue that inhibits the development of communities in both the United States and places like sub-Saharan Africa. I also know that the Internet and social media play major roles in uniting this increasingly interconnected world that we live in. Additionally, I know that NYC’s drinking water is world-renowned for its quality, with over a billion gallons of fresh water delivered from upstate reservoirs each day. My most important knowledge needs revolve around determining the best partnerships to make in order to facilitate my goals in each affected region. I intend to find out more by coordinating with non-profit organizations such as The Water Project and Water for LIFE in order to allow for an avenue of change. I also intend to look into the New York Department of Environmental Protection as a way to connect NYC and its world-class water supply system to places like Flint, Michigan and the Global South. Specifically, I intend to propose a co-branded social media campaign through Instagram, Facebook, and Snapchat with the goal of raising awareness, emphasizing a continued dedication to, and collecting donations for clean water and sanitation worldwide.

    Like

  19. My specific design challenge is to bring awareness about climate change around New York City by implementing programs that encourage clean energy and climate action within the various communities in the city and offer opportunities for people to become involved.
    I know that some people, especially in New York City, want to make a difference and help our planet become a greener place by becoming involved within their communities and being more involved with climate action movements. Currently, contradictions are very popular due to our existing governmental administration, which has failed to recognize that climate change is a problem. However, according to scientists, it is a fact that climate change is very real and present in our day and age, which is why it is crucial to bring awareness to this problem and make it seem as real as it actually is. I also know that digital technologies would be the most useful to implement my specific design challenge because they are the most interactive and modifiable (ex. social media, television advertising & online marketing of climate action programs).
    My most important knowledge needs are finding the best ways to implement educational programs that will create awareness about the effects of climate change and how to implement greener ideas and programs that will encourage people to become more involved in climate action movements. Also, finding the most effective technologies and ideas to implement.
    I intend to find out more by surveying people in order to understand their needs and wants when it comes to climate action (Cleaner water? Solar panels?), as well as looking at other major cities and those that are taking climate action to gain insight into techniques that New York City can implement in order to become a more self-sufficient and greener city. I also intend to talk to climate change experts and scientists about the effects of climate change and the possible effects of global warming… as well as what we can do at a local level. Lastly, I would talk to organizations and create partnerships with people that may be able to help understand contradicting ideas and how to create programs that can overcome these ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. My specific design challenge is to bring more awareness to Zero Hunger and try to eliminate as much as we can as a community. This will be done by creating a plan and working with small business owners to begin to install a game plan of how we can eliminate this by trying to produce more ways to get it to the ones in need. I know that this has been an issue for as long we people can remember. There are organizations out there that are helping to try and get rid of zero hunger but for the amount of people that are in this situation it seems near impossible to get a solution. I also know that this is not a problem just in New York or even the United States but this is affecting in other countries. While it is very bad here in New York, the other countries seem to have nothing. The big issue with the other countries are that they have no resources to try and even find a solution like people are trying to do here. I think that my most important knowledge needs are what plans exactly does New York state have in place to make these plans grow into something that can actually make a solution. I intend to find out more information by getting in touch with various representatives from organizations who are dealing with zero poverty such as City Harvest, one of the more popular ones I have been researching. Also to try to find other organizations that may not be involved now but have the resources to make this grow into something that can help the world. More will get done with more people who want to see change so I intend to find them because they are out there, may not be vocal but they are in the same situation with some people who want to see change. Finally, I can contact nearby local soup kitchens or organizations who deal with this so I can find more background information on demographics and such.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. My specific design goal is to create a program with three actual centers built in the three poorest boroughs of New York to help end poverty in the city. What we will provide at these centers are in-house vocational training to developed skilled professional, a partnership with a vast amount of companies seeking to hire new employees, assistance with applications for college as well as jobs and as we branch out we will even seek to create jobs from within. The center will be equipped with a clinic as well as a cafeteria so they will have access to food and healthcare at no cost to them while seeking a sufficient income to support a reasonable lifestyle.I know there are many reasons why people end up living in poverty whether it be an illness that caused them to stop working or you didn’t have the money to afford the best education but at the same time we can just give you money because that doesn’t solve the problem it’s only a temporary fix. What we want is the people to become self-sufficient and never have to depend on us again. We are like the crutch you use while the leg is healing; a sort of support system. What we need to know is what type of support these people are already receiving if any and what additional support we can provide. I will find this out by conducting interviews with the people of the community as well as going into these communities and doing some community discovery. I will also interview the local government to come with ways to fund this initiative.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. My specific design challenge is to create a possible solution to human trafficking here in the United States. My idea was to create am organization to help aid the victims of sex trafficking to help others recognize signs of it, to help them deal with the post traumatic stress of it if needed, housing and a taxi service made and serviced by women to get women home and escape sexual assault. I know that sex trafficking is a form of modern slavery that exists throughout the United States and globally. I know that traffickers use violence, threats, lies debt bondage, and other forms of coercion to compel adults and children to engage in commercial sex acts especially through technology, the internet, social media, and fake ads to lure people. Also, in 2016, the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children estimated that 1 in 6 endangered runways reported to them were likely sex trafficking victims. Many of these underground sex exploitation “businesses” range from $39.9 million in Colorado, Denver and Atlanta, Georgia. My most important knowledge needs are to find out exactly which neighborhoods in the states suffer from this the most so I can focus on those areas first and I NEED to know direct victims. I intend to find out more my having an individual interview with someone which may be a lot harder than I think it sounds. This is a very personal situation which many might not want to repeat and reminisce on through telling what they encountered. I need to find out how many people have come close to being in a victim or ways they know they were scouted out to be one through community-driven discovery. Also, expert interviews with people whom are therapist or professionals that work with young children and victims dealing with these issues to have a better outlook on how to approach them and organizations already set up and experienced in this particular issue.

    Like

  23. My specific design challenge is to To provide residents with the tools to better succeed in business .I know that there are a small amount of mom and pop shops that have survived more than other self made businesses. In fact, usually the majority of the towns on Long Island have become home to the physical remains of local businesses that have failed to succeed have turned them into “Ghost Towns”. My most important knowledge needs are understanding what factors are solely responsible for the demise of many of these towns and what they are planning to do to fill the void left by the failed businesses. I intend to find out more by reaching out local chamber of commerces to see how handle the fruition of prospective businesses. I also would to take the opportunity to talk with some of the most successful self-made businesses to better understand how they managed to survive.

    Like

  24. My specific design challenge is to form a non-profit organization that is supporting these cases of missing black girls and women in this country.

    I know that this is an issue that is disregarded by police, media, and the government. There are over 64,000 black women and girls missing in the U.S. and the development of an organization that supports these survivors is what the community needs to keep our women and girls safe. Social media will be utilized heavily with my organization to glue together young girls to adult women to show them the risks they are at, what and how they are disappearing and how this can be decreased. I know that with this generation of millenials and the overwhelming use of technology, this human-centered design project can be very effective and successful for these women.

    My most important knowledge needs are to explore more into the empowerment of the black girls and women and see the best efficient ways to help them heal from the tragedies that are happening.

    I intend to find out more by interviewing volunteers and advocates at the Black & Missing Foundation that reports missing black men and women to provide equal opportunity for all that are missing. I believe discussing with them about my foundation will really give me information on the trafficking, kidnapping, and organ harvesting that is occurring in the U.S. Furthermore, it will solely educate me on how to help the survivors, their families, and all in general the people in the community affected by it. People do not just disappear out of thin air and giving all individuals an equal opportunity to be helped is critical.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. My specific design challenge is introducing and propogating clean energy production in the Long Island area though homeowners and businesses in the area. One thing I know about is the widespread skepticism about switching to clean energy and the misconception that it could be an expensive hassle. I also know that wind farms have been constructed off the coast of the island that have been contributing to some small areas and have had increasingly positive results. Lastly, I know that the prominent electricity company on Long Island (PSEG) offers rebates to consumers who switch to more efficient products and forms of energy. In my opinion, my most important knowledge need is to find out why clean energy has not spread throughout Long Island and has been confined to some small spread out areas and what type of plan can be made to make it more appealing to consumers. My intention is to speak with some employees and executives of PSEG to find out more about the energy tendencies of consumers on Long Island. I may also conduct surveys or focus groups that include homeowners and small businesses to find out what the majority of the Long Island population expects/needs/wants from their energy providers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

